Let’s see how many times I can say ‘tartan’ in one blog

Limit #1: women with big hips and bums shouldn’t wear pleated skirts.

Pleated skirt in repose. Yeah, I used the word 'repose' about a skirt.
Pleated skirt in repose. Yeah, I used the word ‘repose’ about a skirt.

I love kilts and tartan skirts (tartan anything, really) and they generally only come in one style; pleated. So I could spend my life being sad that I ‘can’t’ wear these beautiful clothes that make me happy.  Or I could just wear the heck out of them.

SAM_2995
I’m gonna go with ‘wear the heck out of it’.

This was a fairly easy limit to break. My love of tartan cannot be overestimated. I was so happy to be wearing my favourite pattern that it overwhelmed the self-consciousness I was expecting to feel. There was just one moment in the morning, when I looked in the mirror and tried to rearrange the pleats so they didn’t sit directly on my hips. Because maybe if the material lies flat then people will think I’m a size 8 rather than a 14. That’s how it works, right?

Does this skirt make my bum look big? No, the fact that it's big makes my bum look big.
Does this skirt make my bum look big? No, the fact that it’s big makes my bum look big.

Honestly I think I would have been fine even without the tartan to help me out. Skirts are pretty and I look good in this one. Plus they do this when you spin:

I am so ready for salsa!
I am so ready for salsa!

Bring on limit #2!

P.S. TARTAN!

Leave a Reply

