Normal transmission will resume in 3…2…1…

And we’re back.

Now, I know this post is going to get me a lot of horrified responses (I’m looking at you, Mum) but I’m going to put it out there anyway.

Limit #7 Women cannot walk alone at night.

We all know why: if you’re alone at night the rape monster will get you.

It was pretty dark...
It was pretty dark…

But I think you’ll find I just did walk home alone at night. And do, on a weekly basis. Sometimes several times a week.

SAM_3066

I’ll be completely honest – part of it is contrariness. Just last night someone tried to persuade me not to walk home alone (without offering an alternative, I might add), and the more he called me a girl and told me it’s not safe and it’s not nice, the more determined I was to do it.

SAM_3070

But the part that is not contrariness can best be summed up by Elizabeth Bennett:

“There is a stubbornness about me that never can bear to be frightened at the will of others. My courage always rises at every attempt to intimidate me.”

SAM_3074

I will not allow fear to make me miss out on life. I have as much right as anyone else to go out and enjoy myself, whether or not I have a friend to go with me or enough money for a taxi home. How about instead of trying to frighten women into becoming timid little house-bound mice,  we start tackling the rape-culture which teaches everyone that women are put on Earth solely for the benefit of men.

SAM_3075

No, I do not think I’m indestructible. There have been times I’ve had the emergency number ready on my phone in one hand, with the other clenched into a fist so I can punch quickly, just in case. But I will be damned if I ever let fear stop me living my life to the absolute full, and exactly as I want to.

3 thoughts on “Normal transmission will resume in 3…2…1…

  1. I remember so many times at uni when the guys wouldn’t let me walk back to Hall O’Shaw St on my own! I think it’s through upbringing and experience. Having lived in Manchester city centre for a while and walking home on your own after a night out at 3am most weekends, you just learn which routes are safer than others. I never told my mum about these 3am walks home! But you just know to go down main roads where there’s people about if you unfortunately find yourself in a little bit of trouble :/ I walk alone everywhere. I have my moments admittedly, where I look over my shoulder. But we rock, Hannah 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

