You’ll never guess what I’ve done

Limit #10: fat people shouldn’t make art of themselves.

Today’s post is inspired by (read ‘nicked from’) one of my favourite bloggers – The Militant Baker.

Jes Baker will probably never know it, but she is the powerhouse who first got me onto the road of body positivity.

But I didn’t realise until a couple of months ago that she started a Think You’ll Find I Can-esque series YEARS before it even occurred to me that not hating my body was a possibility.

This is about number 9 on her list: Fat People Shouldn’t Make Art of Themselves.

I’ll admit, when I first read the title I somewhat misunderstood it, and thought “I’ve been doing that since primary school!”.  Because I read it as making art actually of themselves. Like this:

SAM_2967

That’s sharpie on my thigh. Because I’m an adult now and Mum can’t stop me drawing on myself with permanent marker.

But away back in school, when I couldn’t even touch a marker without adult supervision, I had a neon green gel pen. And in every lesson that I deemed boring, where I was sitting somewhere out of the teacher’s main line of sight, I gel-penned my left hand with something that looked like this:

SAM_3168

SAM_3169

 

And there was the time just over a year ago when I decided to buy a set of face paints. I have never looked back.

SAM_2722
Dia de los muertos paint for a Latin party.

 

Henna patterns with face paint
Henna patterns with face paint

 

Carnival-style for World Water Day
Carnival-style for World Water Day

So it’s never really crossed my mind that I shouldn’t make art of myself. But art about myself…that’s a whole different ball game.

One of my exes is an artist. He never drew me, and that never bothered me. I looked at his drawings of life models, and felt a distinct urge to cover myself up even though I was fully dressed. I couldn’t bear even the thought of someone looking so closely at so much of my body.

And to make a permanent, visual copy of it?? No chance.

Of course this is a fear thing; I’m afraid of someone looking at my body and judging it. I’m afraid of someone looking at a drawing/painting of my body and judging it. Y’know, that fear of social judgement I’m putting so much energy into fighting.

The thing is, I can’t draw for toffee. I can doodle and make pretty patterns with face paint, but creating an accurate representation of something is beyond me. I can’t make art about myself.

So I’ve done something ridiculous. Something I never in a million billion years thought I would ever do.

I’ve signed up to be a model for a life drawing class.

Hands up who saw that coming (I didn’t!).

So, I’m sure I’ll blog about the what-the-heck-was-I-thinking meltdown when it comes. But I’ll do the class anyway, because my body is just as worthy as anyone else’s of having art made of it.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

